Rivers Angels emerged Champions of the 2019 Nigeria Women Premier League Super 4 after a hard fought 1-0 victory over Confluence Queens on Sunday evening at the Agege Township Stadium.

Cecilia Nku’s second minute penalty was all Rivers Angels needed to win the NWPL title against a very determined Confluence Queens side.

In a well attended final which had the Sports minister Sunday Dare, Women affairs minister Mrs Pauline Tallen, NFF first Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi, Edo State Deputy Governor Phillip Shuaib who was represented by Godwin Dudu Orumen and many others were in attendance, the final lived up to its expectation as the fans were thrilled with entertaining football from both sides.

Precious Christopher briefly gave Confluence Queens hope in the 14th minute when her penalty hit the woodwork after Blessing Ezekiel handled the ball inside the 18yard box.

The victory gave the Edwin Okon’s side their seventh title having won the league last in 2016.

An emotional Edwin Okon said after the game that he knew his side wouldn’t concede and scoring an early goal was important for them.

” We worked hard for this and deserve to win, Confluence Queens gave us a lot of fight, but we remained resolute and defended well. This victory means a lot to me and my players.

” I want to appreciate my players, the management of Rivers Angels and the state Government of Rivers State. It has indeed been a tedious but satisfying season. He concluded.

Meanwhile Whyte Ogbonda who have failed to win Rivers Angels in three consecutive finals was unhappy with the result, but promised to keep fighting.

” I am not happy with the result today, I thought we deserve a better result from what we got. We were unlucky to lose a penalty when we indeed needed to have scored. We go back to Lokoja with a heavy heart and definitely we won’t relent from this success we have recorded.

Earlier on, former champions, Bayelsa Queens finished third after a resounding 4-0 victory over Super 4 debutants Adamawa Queens.

Blessing Illivieda opened scoring in the 10th minute via a penalty while Rafiat Sule, Tessy Biahwo and Joy Jerry scored in the 34th 56th and 88th minute respectively.

The winner of the 2019 Nigeria Women Premier League will go home with a sum of N3m and a one week tour to Spain as part of the Laliga/NWFL partnership deal.

November 3, 2019
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *