Delta Queens are seeking their sixth Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) title when they face Nasarawa Amazons who are seeking their second overall and first since 2014.

Friday’s NWPL Super 4 final at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium will feature two great sides, but it is Delta Queens who are coming into this tie as underdogs after they finished second behind Nasarawa Amazons in the round robbin of the Super 4.

Four-time winners Delta earned their place by beating Rivers Angels 2-0, and following it up with a 1-1 draw and 2-2 stalemate against Bayelsa Queens and Nasarawa Amazons respectively.

Young goalkeeper Rita Akarekor has been in fine form in Benin City, with superb saves and sharp reflexes.

Amerat Adebisi Saheed, who is in line to be the tournament’s MVP and top scorer will pull the strings in midfield for Delta Queens.

But that is nothing compared to the performance Nasarawa Amazons have produced. They finished on top of the Pool with seven points and are gunning for a first title since the 2012/13 season.

Anam Imo will lead the attack alongside Adejoke Ejalonibu and Chineyere Igboamalu in search of goals.

The lively Christy Ucheibe has been one of their best players and Chioma Nwankwo has been an authoritative, vocal presence at the back. Without the latter they may not have made the final – not just for denying Bayelsa Queens, but had she not made the last-ditch save against Rivers Angels the story might have not been the same.

Both teams have been impressive on their way to the final. Above all, a good defence is a prerequisite of winning the Super 4 and these two sides, as well as any of the teams that have appeared at the tournament, have truly solidified at the back, concealing the individual weaknesses within their ranks by making the most of the resources at their disposal to march into the final.

The final will be held on Friday 13 October at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City, Edo State. The match kicks off at 4pm.

Nasarawa Amazons (Probable) XI: Chioma Nwankwo, Ebere Okoye, Joy Duru, Ugochi Emenayo, Sarah Nnodim, Amarachi Okoronkwo, Victor Esther, Christy Ucheibe, Anam Imo, Adejoke Ejalonibu, Chinyere Igboamalu

Delta Queens (Probable) XI: Rita Akarekor, Maria Nwoko, Uju Okafor, Joy Jegede, Margaret Etim, Ogechi Ukwuoma, Amerat Adebisi Saheed, Maryann Ohadiwe, Ijeoma Obi, Rosemary Okezie, Maryann Ezenagu

October 13, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *