Nasarawa Amazons have won their second Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) crown after beating Delta Queens 1-0 at the Super 4 final on Friday.

Amarachi Okoronkwo’s 40th minute header was enough to hand her side their second league title at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Edo State.

The Amazons took control of the game from the opening minutes and could have gone a goal up if not for the heroics of Delta Queens’ goalkeeper, Rita Akarekor.

Delta Queens also enjoyed their fair share of chances especially towards the end of the game when they made Nasarawa Amazons’ defense tremble for in the seven minutes of additional time.

But the Amazons held on and went on to lift their second league title.

The Lafia outfit maintained a good record, winning three of their matches and playing a draw at the Super 4.

Champions Nasarawa Amazons went home with the sum of #3,000,000 with second placed Delta Queens receiving #2,000,000. Third placed Bayelsa Queens were rewarded with the sum of #1,000,000.

Meanwhile, participating clubs, Nasarawa Amazons, Delta Queens, Bayelsa Queens and Rivers Angels all got additional #500,000 each from the Edo State Government.

Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Hon. Philip Shuaibu presented the prize monies to the teams.

October 14, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *